Biography

Nuria Manzur (Mexico City, 1979) is a Mexican-Spanish academic, poet, translator, playwright and essayist. Honoured with a scholarship by the Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (National Council of Science and Technology) of her native country, she received her PhD degree in Humanities Studies (Literature, Art and Thought) at Universidad Pompeu Fabra (Barcelona) in December 2014, with a thesis named “Meridional Constellations. Readings towards Paul Celan”.

She has taught Literature at Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico City) and Film Semiotics at Universidad de la Comunicación (Mexico City). She has also participated as a lecturer in the “Fantasmagorias Espectrales” congress (Spectral Phantasmagoria, UIA, 2012)  and the First International Congress of Theory and Criticism (UIA, 2013).

Focused on the work of Paul Celan and its philosophical ramifications (especially aesthetic, ethical and epistemological), Nuria’s research as well as personal interest in music, dance, film and visual arts, constantly influence her artistic work.

The constant interaction with different artistic languages ​​allowed her to return to poetry from complementary angles. In music, she has collaborated with composers such as Felipe Perez-Santiago (Netherlands-Mexico), Wilfrido Terrazas (Mexico), José Manuel Alcantara (Mexico) and Mark Kelly (UK). She has also dabbled in theater as a playwright and actress (Monologues on a bicycle, Vevey 2011 / Rotterdam 2011) and the ephemeral performance art piece Some(s) – De(s) (Vevey, 2015).

She has translated the literary works of poets such as Rose Ausländer and Paul Celan. Her practice in this field goes from German, French or English into Spanish, her mother tongue.

Teaching

Languages

  • Spanish: Mother Tongue
  • English: C2
  • French: C1
  • German: B2

Academic

  • PhD 2014

    PhD in Humanities Studies (Litterature, Art and Thought)

    Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona

  • Research Staying 2010

    Research Staying

    Queen's Mary University of London - German Studies Departement

  • Master 2009

    Master in Humanities Studies (Litterature, Art and Thought)

    Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona

  • BA 2004

    BA in Latin American Literature

    Iberoamerican University

Honors, Prices

  • 2014
    Excellence Honor
    Excellence Honor in PhD Thesis: “Constelaciones Meridionales. Lecturas hacia Paul Celan” (Meridional Constellations. Readings Towards Paul Celan).
  • 2006-2011
    Scholarship
    PhD Scholarship for Foreign Studies given by CONACyT (Science and Technology National Council – Mexico). 2005-2006 Award.

Biographie

Nuria Manzur, née à Mexico City en 1979, est une chercheuse, poète, traductrice, dramaturge et essayiste. Au bénéfice d’une bourse du Conseil National des Sciences et de la Technologie (CONACyT) de son pays natal, elle  a soutenu sa thèse doctorale « Constellations Méridiennes. Lectures vers Paul Celan » en décembre 2014 dans le cadre du programme de Doctorat des Sciences Humaines (la Littérature, l’Art et la Pensée) de l’Université Pompeu Fabra (Barcelone) et a été honorée de la mention d’excellence.

Elle a enseigné la littérature à l’Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico) et la Sémiotique du Cinéma à l’Université de la Communication (Mexico). Elle a également participé aux colloques “Fantasmagories spectrales” (UIA, 2012) et le Premier Congrès International de la Théorie et la Critique Littéraires (UIA, 2013).

Tant sa recherche sur le travail de Paul Celan que les résonances philosophiques qui en découlent (surtout esthétiques, éthiques et épistémologiques) et de même ses préoccupations concernant les domaines de la musique, de la danse, du cinéma et des arts visuels, ont une énorme et permanente influence sur son travail artistique.

Ses liens avec les différents langages artistiques lui permettent de retourner à la poésie de diverses manières en enrichissant l’aspect multiforme de ses recherches. Dans la musique, elle a collaboré avec des compositeurs tels que Felipe Perez-Santiago (Pays-Bas-Mexique), Wilfrido Terrazas (Mexique), José Manuel Alcantara (Mexique) et Mark Kelly (Royaume-Uni). Elle a aussi approché le théâtre comme dramaturge et actrice (Monologues en bicyclette, Vevey 2011 / Rotterdam 2011) ainsi que la performance avec Somes(s) – De(s) (Vevey, 2015).

Elle s’adonne également à la traduction d’œuvres littéraires de poètes tels que Rose Ausländer et Paul Celan. Sa pratique de la traduction se fait de l’Allemand, de l’Anglais, du Français ou du Catalan vers l’Espagnol, sa langue maternelle.

Enseignement

Langues

  • Espagnol: langue maternelle
  • Anglais: C2
  • Français: C1
  • Allemand: B2

Parcours académique

  • Doctorat 2014

    Doctorat en Sciences Humaines (Littérature, Arts, Pensées)

    Université Pompeu Fabra, Barcelone

  • Stage 2010

    Stage de recherche

    Queen's Mary University of London - Département d'Allemand

  • Master 2009

    Master en Sciences Humaines (Littérature, Arts, Pensées)

    Université Pompeu Fabra, Barcelone

  • Bachelor 2004

    Bachelor en Littérature Latine-Américaine

    Université Iberoamericana

Mentions, Prix

  • 2014
    Mention d'Excellence ``Thèse Doctorale``
    Mention d’excellence pour la créativité de l’approche du sujet de la thèse “Constelaciones Meridionales. Lecturas hacia Paul Celan” et pour ses méthodes de recherche.
  • 2006-2011
    Bourse d'étude doctorale
    Bourse accordée pour 5 ans d’études à l’étranger par le CONACyT (Mexique).